Scotland’s women in bid for Cricket World Cup



Scotland’s female Cricket squad embark on their bid to reach the ICC women’s World Cup, with qualifiers against Zimbabwe, South Africa, Bangladesh, Papa New Guinea and Pakistan.

Captain Abbi Aitken leads the team, with only one change, the seam-bowler Priyanaz Chatterj, to the squad that traveled to the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier, in Thailand, in 2015.

Aitken said, “It was an extremely difficult selection process this time around, and that’s credit to every member of the wider-squad for the brilliant efforts and attitudes shown throughout the preparation months.

“The final 14 selected have a good variety of skills to offer as well as a good balance of youth and experienced players. The squad is very clear on our aims and aspirations for the tournament and what is required of us in order to achieve them.

“Whatever the outcome, the experience and opportunity is huge and we will be going out there to do our country proud!” Aitken concluded.


We caught up with Abbi ahead of the qualifiers:



A full team list and fixture list can be found below:


Scotland Squad:  Abbi Aitken (c), Kari Anderson (vc), Kathryn Bryce, Sarah Bryce, Priyanaz Chatterji, Kirstie Gordon, Samantha Haggo, Lorna Jack, Abtaha Maqsood, Katie McGill, Liz Priddle, Ollie Rae, Rachel Scholes, Fi Urquhart

Scotland Fixtures

Zimbabwe – 5 February at Colombo Cricket Ground
South Africa – 8 February at Mercantille Cricket Ground
Bangladesh – 10 February at Colombo Cricket Ground
PNG – 11 February at Mercantille Cricket Ground
Pakistan – 13 February at Mercantille Cricket Ground

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: