Four uncapped Edinburgh players are included in Scotland’s test squad

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has included four uncapped Edinburgh Rugby players in his squad for next month’s Autumn Test Series.

It will be Townsend’s first series in charge on home soil at Murrayfield. The test begins on November 11 against Samoa, followed by New Zealand on November 18 and concluding with Australia on November 25.

Centre Phil Burleigh, scrum-half Nathan Fowles, front-row Darryl Marfo and back-row forward Jamie Ritchie are the Edinburgh Rugby call-ups. Ritchie scored a try in Edinburgh’s recent 37-14 victory over London Irish in the Challenge Cup.


Phil Burleigh is one of ten uncapped players in the squad (Credit: Edinburgh Rugby)

There is no place in the team, however, for two Edinburgh players. Magnus Bradbury is out as he serves a club suspension for picking up an injury on a night out and fellow back-row John Hardie is under investigation for alleged cocaine abuse.

A total of 10 uncapped players have been named in the 36-man squad. The other six include Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons), Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow), Luke Hamilton (Leicester), Scott Cummings and George Turner (both Glasgow).

As Greig Laidlaw is missing with a fractured ankle, John Barclay has been named captain for the series.

There are places in the team for full-back Stuart Hogg and wing Tommy Seymour following their involvement with the British and Irish Lions earlier this year.

Townsend has said that he will not be trying to experiment with his new-look side when the series begins.

“There are 10 uncapped players – five of them have been involved before, but we wanted to choose this squad based on form.”

“We will be looking to play our best team in all three games. Now is not the time to be trying things we are not sure about”.


Forwards: Simon Berghan, Jamie Bhatti, John Barclay, Scott Cummings, Cornell du Preez, Zander Fagerson, Ross Ford, Grant Gilchrist, Jonny Gray, Rob Harley, Luke Hamilton, Darryl Marfo, Stuart McInally, Willem Nel, Jamie Ritchie, Tim Swinson, Ben Toolis, George Turner, Ryan Wilson, Hamish Watson

Backs: Phil Burleigh, Alex Dunbar, Dougie Fife, Nathan Fowles, Chris Harris, Nick Grigg, Stuart Hogg, Pete Horne, Ruaridh Jackson, Lee Jones, Huw Jones, Byron McGuigan, Ali Price, Henry Pyrgos, Finn Russell, Tommy Seymour

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: